

Dr. Louis J. Pignataro Memorial Transportation Education Award Fund

At its January 22, 2004 meeting, the ITE Met Section Executive Board approved the establishment of an annual award to honor the memory of Dr. Louis J. Pignataro, who passed away in July 2003.

Dr. Pignataro was a giant in our Transportation Engineering profession, and many members of the Met Section, and of other sections in the US and around the world, were fortunate to have had him as their teacher, mentor, and friend. He was an inspiration to all who knew him, and will be sorely missed.

To honor his memory, an award fund has been established through voluntary contributions from ITE members, to recognize a Metropolitan Section area student or faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding performance in their studies or teachings. The awardee will have already contributed to, or shown the potential for contributing to, the Met Section and to the practice of the transportation profession (i.e., traffic engineering, transportation engineering, or transportation planning). Award candidates should either be ITE members, student members, or ITE membership applicants. In the fall of each year, ITE Student Chapter advisors, faculty members, and students of the Transportation graduate school programs in the Met Section* will be requested to submit the names of one or more deserving students or faculty members. An award committee of Met Section members will screen the candidates and select an award recipient. The award, to be presented at a Spring ITE Met Section Dinner meeting, will include a plaque with Dr. Pignataro's image and a check for \$1,000. This award will be an incentive towards participation in ITE Met Section activities.

For more information or to volunteer as a fund contributor, please contact:

Anthony D. Mariani anthony.mariani@collierseng.com 609-587-8200 (Office) 848-218-8368 (Mobile)

* NYU, City College, NJIT, Rutgers, Stevens, Cooper Union, Columbia, The College of New Jersey, or other school programs, as approved by the Awards Committee.